Whatsapp new Disappearing feature will rollout soon!!

32
Fact check Feature launched by WhatsApp

WhatsApp is expected to soon roll out the “Disappearing Messages” feature. Wabetainfo claims that the Facebook-owned company will release this feature with one of the upcoming updates. Ahead of the release, the cited source has revealed more details about “Disappearing Messages.” WhatsApp users will be allowed to enable the feature any time they want.

However, you won’t get an option to customize the time. Once you enable “Disappearing Messages,” all the new messages will only expire after seven days. You cannot set time as to when you want them to disappear. The cited source says that if you don’t open the chat for 7 days, then the messages will disappear. But, if you haven’t cleared the notification panel, then you will be able to check the messages there.

“When you reply to a message, the initial message is quoted. If you reply to a disappearing message, the quoted text might remain in the chat after seven days. If a disappearing message is forwarded to a chat with disappearing messages off, the message won’t disappear in the forwarded chat,”

Disappearing Messages aren’t available yet, but WhatsApp announces the feature to come to iOS, Android, KaiOS and Web/Desktop… at least in a hidden part of their website.

Reading the official WhatsApp FAQ, we can learn different useful things:

  • If a user doesn’t open WhatsApp in the seven day period, the message will disappear. However, the preview of the message might still be displayed in notifications until WhatsApp is opened.
  • When you reply to a message, the initial message is quoted. If you reply to a disappearing message, the quoted text might remain in the chat after seven days.
  • If a disappearing message is forwarded to a chat with disappearing messages off, the message won’t disappear in the forwarded chat.
  • If a user creates a backup before a message disappears, the disappearing message will be included in the backup. Disappearing messages will be deleted when a user restores from a backup.
Read related articles  Why You Need To Stop Using WhatsApp till You Change These 3 Settings

This is a good feature, but WhatsApp recommends to use it carefully, with trusted individuals, because:

  • The recipient might forward or take a screenshot of a disappearing message and save it before it disappears.
  • The recipient might copy and save content from the disappearing message before it disappears.
  • The recipient might take a photo of a disappearing message with a camera or other device before it disappears.

WhatsApp also warns about the option Save to Camera Roll: if this option is enabled, a disappearing message might be automatically saved in the Photos app. Wabetainfo reported.